Posted by: Kaiaroon | September 15, 2009

Executive Functioning

The day-to-day logistics of Movie Boy’s day kick his ass.

So far this year (and it has only been a week) he has an A in two classes. Which is very hopeful. But he lost a check for $8 that was supposed to be turned into his Tech Ed teacher (later found after an e-mail from me to the case manager), and didn’t bring the payment in for school pictures (I had made an online payment and put the code in the appropriate place, but Movie Boy said, “But there was no money in the envelope so I didn’t turn it in.”)

This is after much coaching and post-its attached to everything in his binder. It is the beginning of the school year and transitions are hard for him, so I do expect that things will get a little better as he gets accustomed to his new environment. I hope.

The other issue is that there are no clocks in the 7th grade hallway. Or, rather, there are no working clocks. Due to some software malfunction, they are all off. And Movie Boy has no real inner clock. He marks his day by watching the clock. He has a lot of anxiety when he doesn’t know what time it is. Way too much gray area in not knowing where he is in his day.

All the A’s in the world will not help you if you can’t get through the mundane tasks of living. He asked me if I was mad at him about the pictures. Of course not, I told him. I didn’t tell him how much this worries me.

I have sent four short e-mails to his case manager this year so far. All related to this type of stuff. Asking him to support Movie Boy in being more successful in these tasks.

Leave a Reply

Categories

